Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Suryakumar Yadav appointed Mumbai captain

Mumbai Cricket Association have appointed Suryakumar Yadav the new captain for the upcoming Ranji Trophy season. Yadav has been in blistering form on the domestic circuit which has been richly rewarded with him being handed the leadership responsibility.

The 29-year old is one of the senior players in the Mumbai Ranji squad. He has played 72 first-class matches, scoring 4818 runs with 12 hundreds and 24 half-centuries. Yadav has previous experience in leading the side. But his last tenure as the Mumbai came to an acrimonious end as he was sacked midway through the 2014-15 season. He was also dropped from the squad last season. But it has been a sensational turnaround for the middle-order dasher as he has been Mumbai’s best performer in the shorter formats this season.

An MCA official told the PTI on Yadav’s appointment:

“Going by the new constitution, they (ad-hoc selection committee) invited Surya and appointed him as the captain.”

The squad named by the selectors for the tie against Baroda is well-balanced one. Mumbai will again bank on their batting depth in order to register a victory. The 41-time champions will boast the likes of Indian vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane, opener Prithvi Shaw along with Yadav in their batting order. The bowling department will be led by the experienced Dhawal Kulkarni and Shardul Thakur. The fixture between the two giants of Indian domestic cricket will be played at the Moti Bagh Stadium in Baroda between 9th to 12th December.

Mumbai Squad: Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Aditya Tare (Vice Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Prithvi Shaw, Jay Bista, Shubham Ranjane, Akash Parkar, Sarfaraz Khan, Shams Mulani, Vinayak Bhoir, Shashank Attarde, Shardul Thakur, Tushar Deshpande, Dhawal Kulkarni, Eknath Kerkar

Leave a Response