Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Sixth round highlights – Manoj Tiwary, Sarfaraz Khan slam triple tons

Two triple centuries were scored in the sixth round of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20. Manoj Tiwary from Bengal and Mumbai’s Sarfaraz Khan struck majestic knocks. Only five out of 18 matches in this round remained undecided while there were five innings victories.

Also read: Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Fifth round highlights – Pujara’s grand 50th first-class ton; Nail-biting finishes

Group A

Manoj Tiwary’s maiden triple century for Bengal saw his side register a humongous innings and 303-run victory over Hyderabad.

Delhi pulled off a sensational win against defending champions Vidarbha in Delhi. Nitish Rana’s 105*(68) saw them chasing down 347 runs with six wickets remaining.

In a game of tumbling fortunes, Punjab needed 220 runs to win against Gujarat in Valsad. Arzan Nagwaswalla (5/50) and Chintan Gaja (4/35) skittled Punjab for 109 all out to secure a 110-run win.

Rajasthan stormed to a massive win against Kerala. The South Indian team managed scores of 90 and 82 as Rajasthan picked up an innings and 96-run victory.

Gujarat’s victory places them at the second spot behind Andhra. Vidarbha slipped to the fifth spot in their group with just one point separating them and Delhi.

Group B

Wet outfield at Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium, Dharamsala saw the home side and Baroda getting one point each.

Madhya Pradesh conceded first-innings lead but held on for a draw in Indore versus Saurashtra with the last pair batting.

Four-wicket hauls from M Siddharth and R Ashwin saw Tamil Nadu taking down Railways for 76 all out. Abhinav Mukund’s 100 and 5/16 from R Sai Kishore saw Tamil Nadu winning by an innings and 164 runs.

Sarfaraz Khan slammed his maiden triple ton to pouch three points against Uttar Pradesh at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai. Upendra Yadav’s unbeaten 203 had powered UP to 625/8 declared.

Saurashtra sit at the top with 19 points after the sixth round of Ranji Trophy 2019-20. Karnataka follow them with 17 points in their account.

Group C

Maharashtra clinched a terrific victory over Assam after conceding a deficit in the first innings. Opener Jay Pande’s 130 set Assam 297 runs to win. Ashay Palkar claimed 6/42 as Maharashtra won by 218 runs.

Harshal Patel’s 6/52 took Services down for just 97 runs and earned a 79-run lead for Haryana. Chasing 213 to win, G Rahul Singh’s 115 brought Services in touching distance. Sachindanand Pandey struck a boundary to seal a one-wicket win.

Jammu and Kashmir registered a four-wicket triumph over Odisha in Cuttack. In the low-scoring game, J&K chased 204 runs in their final innings.

Opener Kumar Deobrat propelled Jharkhand to a six-wicket win against Uttarakhand with his twin knocks of 85 and 93*. Interestingly, eight of Uttarakhand’s dismissals in the first innings were LBW.

Pankaj Kumar Rao and V Pratap Singh helped Chattisgarh defeat Tripura by an innings and 28 runs. Tripura were dismissed for 53 in their first outing.

J&K lead the group with 32 points whereas Uttarakhand lie at the bottom with only one point in their account.


Meghalaya recorded a mammoth innings win despite putting up only 235 runs in their first innings. Sanjay Yadav took 11 wickets in the match. Manipur collapsed for 27 all out and 92 all out.

Bihar collected three points against Nagaland in Dimapur. After skittling Nagaland for 166, Bihar piled up 509/7 declared. Rongsen Jonathan’s 200* helped Nagaland draw the match.

Taruwar Kohli’s all-round performance (113, 55 and 6/52) powered Mizoram to a 78-run victory over Sikkim. G Lalbiakvela of Mizoram also claimed 8/56.

At 26/6, Goa were looking at heavy defeat versus Chandigarh. They recovered to post 251 but Chandigarh then replied with 580/7. Goa held on to secure a draw.

Vinay Kumar’s 11 wickets wreaked Arunachal Pradesh as Puducherry registered a 296-run victory at their home track.

Puducherry lead the group with Goa just three points short. Sikkim and Arunachal Pradesh lie at the bottom.

Leave a Response