Shaw included as India announce squad for New Zealand ODIs

Dashing opener Prithvi Shaw has been richly rewarded for his sensational form with a call-up in the ODI squad for New Zealand tour. His inclusion comes on the back of Shikhar Dhawan’s shoulder injury, which has ruled him out of the entire tour. Wicketkeeper-batsman Sanju Samson will replace Dhawan in the T20I squad.

Shaw has performed exceedingly well for Mumbai after his comeback from a doping suspension. He has followed up on this rich vein of form on the domestic circuit, with a blistering 150 for India A in a warm-up game against New Zealand A. With his striking prowess, the 20-year certainly is a compelling prospect for the Indian team management to groom for the challenges which lie ahead.

Also read: Ishant Sharma suffers ankle injury, doubtful for New Zealand tour

Dhawan suffers Grade 2 tear

Dhawan, who Shaw will be replacing suffered his injury while fielding in the final ODI against Australia. It has now been confirmed that he suffered a Grade 2 tear on his left shoulder. He will now report to the NCA in Bangalore to start his rehabilitation process.

As far as the ODI squad is concerned, it bears a similar look to the one fielded against Australia. There are no surprise inclusions in the squad with India backing their core players to perform well again on overseas shores.

The T20I leg of the tour will begin on 24th January in Auckland. This will be followed by a three-match ODI series beginning on 5th February. The two-match Test series will conclude the tour and will be played between 21st February to 4th March.

India ODI squad: Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Prithvi Shaw, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Kedar Jadhav

India T20I squad (revised): Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Sanju Samson, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur

Leave a Response