Kumar Sangakkara named first non-British President of MCC

Former Sri Lanka captain Kumar Sangakkara has been named the first non-British President of the MCC. The legendary Sri Lankan cricketer will begin his tenure on October 1, 2019 for a period of 1 year. Sangakkara will take over from current President Anthony Wreford who himself announced the Sri Lankan legend’s nomination at MCC’s Annual General Meeting at Lord’s.

Sangakkara said on his appointment:

“It is a huge honour to be named the next President of MCC and it is a role that I am thoroughly looking forward to. For me, MCC is the greatest cricket club in the world, with its global reach and continued progress for cricket on and off the pitch. The year 2020 is going to be yet another significant one in cricket, especially at Lord’s, and I am thrilled that I am going to be able to play a part in supporting its future as President of MCC.”

Current President Wreford said on Sangakkara’s appointment:

“As MCC looks to broaden both our horizons and international reputation, I’m delighted that Kumar has accepted the invitation, which he did in January this year, to be the next President of MCC. He is an outstanding individual both on and off the field and will make a huge contribution to the Club. In a World Cup and Ashes year he will also have a significant role to play as President Designate.”

Sangakkara has a long association with the MCC having delivered a Spirit of Cricket lecture in 2011 which was highly memorable in nature. He was also awarded a lifetime honorary membership of the club in 2012.

Sangakkara’s tenure as the President will end on September 30, 2020.

Leave a Response