India announce squads for upcoming home series against Sri Lanka and Australia

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the Indian squads for the upcoming limited-overs matches against Sri Lanka and Australia. Jasprit Bumrah and Shikhar Dhawan have returned from their injuries whereas Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami have been rested from the T20Is versus Sri Lanka. India play three T20Is against the neighbouring nation which will be followed by three ODIs versus Australia.

Also read: 100MB Christmas Auction: Your chance to win Sachin-signed merchandise!

Bumrah and Dhawan return

India’s prime pace bowler Jasprit Bumarah has been recovering from his back injury which has kept him out of the action since September 2019. He has been battling a stress fracture of the back. Recently, he bowled during India’s net session ahead of the second ODI against the West Indies in Visakhapatnam.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan, who had suffered a deep cut on his knee, has also returned to the limited-overs squad. Post-World Cup, the Delhi batsman has been a little off-colour. In his absence, KL Rahul batted exceptionally well thus causing a sweet dilemma for the selectors. The 34-year old will be eager to reclaim his spot.

Rohit and Shami rested

Rohit Sharma who enjoyed a tremendous run with the bat in 2019, will not be featuring in the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka. The opener has been playing without a break for quite a while and will enjoy a well-deserved break. Mohammed Shami will also be resting during the T20I series. Shami also had a productive 2019 as he bagged 77 international wickets in 30 matches.

India will start the year 2020 with a three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka from 5th January. The second and the third T20Is will be played on 7th and 10th January respectively. Australia will then engage in a three-match ODI series which begins on 14th January in Mumbai. The remaining two matches will be played on 17th and 19th January.

India squads against Sri Lanka and Australia

For T20Is against Sri Lanka: Virat Kohli (Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Sanju Samson, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah, Washington Sundar

For ODIs against Australia: Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami.

Leave a Response