India announce squad for U-19 World Cup in South Africa

Defending champions India have announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming U-19 World Cup which will be played in South Africa in 2020. Priyam Garg, the Uttar Pradesh batsman will be leading the squad which has more than enough quality to defend their crown. Dhruv Chand Jurel, also from Uttar Pradesh, has been named Garg’s deputy in the squad. Mumbai batsman Yashasvi Jaiswal who has lit up domestic cricket with some explosive performances has also been included and will be expected to make a major impact.

India will be a part of Group A in the 16-team tournament. They have been placed alongside New Zealand, Sri Lanka and first-time qualifier Japan. They will open their campaign against Sri Lanka on January 19 in Bloemfontein. Matches against Japan and New Zealand will follow on January 21 and January 24 respectively. The top-2 teams from the group will qualify for the Super League stage of the tournament.

This will be the 13th edition of the U-19 World Cup and will take place between January 17 to February 9. In preparation for the tournament, India will play a three-match series against South Africa. This will be followed by a quadrangular series which will feature South Africa, New Zealand and Zimbabwe alongside India.

Squad: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Divyaansh Saxena, Priyam Garg (c), Dhruv Chand Jurel (vc & wk), Shashwat Rawat, Divyansh Joshi, Shubhang Hegde, Ravi Bishnoi, Akash Singh, Kartik Tyagi, Atharva Ankolekar, Kumar Kushagra (wk), Sushant Mishra, Vidyadhar Patil

Leave a Response