IND vs WI: Hope excluded, Allen returns for T20I series

West Indies have announced a strong squad for the three-match T20I series against India. Wicketkeeper-batsman Shai Hope has been surprisingly excluded from the squad as the selectors try out new combinations ahead of the T20 World Cup in Australia next year. Fast bowler Alzarri Joseph has also not been included.

Kieron Pollard will lead the squad which will aim to bounce back from a series defeat against Afghanistan. Hoping for a turnaround, the selectors have included all-rounder Fabian Allen who will return after a knee injury. Nicholas Pooran will also be available for selection after serving his ball-tampering suspension. Denesh Ramdin will don the gloves in the series after recovering from a hamstring injury. Experienced batsman Lendl Simmons has also found himself in the squad.

Speaking on the squad, head coach Phil Simmons said:

“In the T20s this will be another chance for them to play and development, and again no disrespect to Afghanistan, this should be a stronger T20 country and we will look to see how they perform against India. The next World Cup is in Australia (2020) and the one after that is here in India (2021) so there is a lot of preparation to be done for first for Australia, so we have given the players here a chance in this series and we know we have players outside who may be coming in later on as well, so it’s good to give those here another opportunity.”

The three-match T20I series will begin on 6th November in Hyderabad. The final match of the series will be played in Mumbai on 11th December.

T20I Squad: Kieron Pollard (c), Fabian Allen, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Denesh Ramdin, Sherfane Rutherford, Lendl Simmons, Keserick Williams, Hayden Walsh Jr.

ODI Squad: Kieron Pollard (c), Sunil Ambris, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Evin Lewis, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Leave a Response