IND vs BAN 2nd Test – India roll Bangladesh over on Day 3 to continue victory march

India extended their home domination with another emphatic victory over Bangladesh in the first-ever day-night Test on the Indian shores. The home side needed three wickets on the third day to wrap up the game. It took nine overs for Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav to complete the formality and seal a victory by an innings and 46 runs. Mushfiqur Rahim fought a lone battle with his knock of 76 but it was in vain as Indian pacers finished the match in a jiffy. Ishant won the player of the match award for his spell of 9/78 across two innings.

Check the full scorecard here

Sweet victory swiftly delivered

Bangladesh needed to put in efforts late on the second day just to ensure that they do not suffer the ignominy of losing in two days. After fighting through a tough spell, the visitors began the third day on 152/6. It did not take long for the in-form Indian pacers to produce the first breakthrough.

Ishant Sharma, hunting for his 10-wicket haul, started the proceedings with a maiden over. Umesh Yadav sent back Ebadot Hossain in the second over of the day as the batsman spooned a shot ball to Virat Kohli in the slip cordon. With only the tail-enders for support, Mushfiqur Rahim tried to gather runs and spend as much time as possible on the crease.

Pinching boundaries and stealing singles, Rahim inched towards his Test hundred. Agitated, Rahim did try a few big shots in between. His knock of 74 came to an end as he skied a slow ball from Yadav into Ravindra Jadeja’s hands. With Mahmudullah out injured, Bangladesh had only one wicket in their account. Both Yadav and Ishant went after the last wicket in search of their five-fors.

It was Umesh Yadav who succeeded in reaching his milestone as he extracted an outside edge from the bat of Al-Amin. India completed an emphatic victory in their first-ever day-night Test. They became the first team to register four consecutive Test wins by an innings margin. Kohli also won seventh consecutive Test match which is a record for an Indian captain. India have now won 12 consecutive Test series at home. Their next Test challenge will be in New Zealand.

Leave a Response