ICC to announce fixtures for T20 World Cup 2022 on January 21

ICC T20 World Cup 2021

The International Cricket Council (ICC) is set to announce the fixtures for the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia on January 21, whereas the sale of tickets for the fixtures will begin from February 7. The upcoming edition will be the eighth one after the multi-team event started in 2007.

The 2022 event, scheduled to take place between 16 October and 13 November, will see 45 matches hosted across seven venues – Adelaide, Brisbane, Geelong, Hobart, Melbourne, Perth and Sydney, while the final will be hosted under lights at the MCG on 13 November 2022. The semi-finals will be hosted at the Sydney Cricket Ground and Adelaide Oval on 9 and 10 November, respectively.

Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa confirmed in the Super 12s, whereas Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka and West Indies will be playing the qualifiers preceding the main draw.

Head of Events, Chris Tetley said: “We are looking forward to seeing the return of ICC events to Australia and are delighted to announce the seven host cities for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022. Following the success of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in 2020 and a two year postponement, our sights are now firmly set on planning for the 2022 event in collaboration with the LOC. With 12 teams already confirmed in the line-up, we eagerly await the culmination of the qualification process to see which other teams will join them.”

The ICC in a statement last month stated, “The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 is less than 11 months away and fans can soon start preparing their World Cup experience with the full fixture set to be announced on January 21, 2022. With the announcement of the fixture, fans will be able to plan which matches they want to attend and where, before tickets go on sale to the public on February 7, 2022.”

“The final of the T20 World Cup will be played under lights at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on November 13, 2022, while the semifinals will be hosted at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) and Adelaide Oval on November 9 and 10, respectively. As announced in November, ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021 champions Australia and runner-up New Zealand plus Afghanistan, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan and South Africa as the next highest ranked teams will gain direct entry into the Super 12 stage of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022”.



Former Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor accepted breaching 4 charges of the ICC Anti-Corruption Code and one charge of the ICC Anti-Doping Code. https://t.co/yEtLRJGXmg 100MasterBlastr photo

"It’s important that, as a batting unit, all of us take the responsibility of playing our roles," @M_Raj03 speaks her mind ahead of India's tour of New Zealand. Read more here.


Congratulations to @ScorchersBBL on winning their 4th #BBL title, beating @SixersBBL in the final!

#BBLFinal #BBL11 https://t.co/scyXgUfRkf
100MasterBlastr photo

Rovman Powell joined a league of West Indian legends with his swashbuckling century against England in the 3rd T20I💥

#WIvENG #T20ICricket #WestIndiesCricket https://t.co/IlWRieDMVF
100MasterBlastr photo