CPL performances rewarded as Windies announce squads for Afghanistan series

The West Indies selectors have announced the squads for the T20I, ODI and Test series against Afghanistan. The matches will be played in India, Afghanistan’s adopted home and will be the first assignment of the recently reappointed Phil Simmons. The tour will also mark the beginning of the reign of Kieron Pollard as the captain of the limited-overs sides. Some big decisions have been made across all formats. Darren Bravo has been dropped from the squad of the one-off Test after a miserable series at home against India. His poor form then continued in the CPL. Pacer Shannon Gabriel also misses out on selection with an injury. Alzarri Joseph returns to the squad in his place after proving his fitness in the CPL. Top-order batsman Sunil Ambris and left-arm spinner Jomel Warrican also earn a call-up.

CPL performances rewarded

The CPL performances have been a major factor as far as selections for the T20I squad are concerned. Some outstanding performances in the tournament have earned the likes of Brandon King and Hayden Walsh Jr a callup to the national squad. The pair were the leading run-scorer and wicket-taker in the tournament respectively. Veteran wicketkeeper-batsman Denesh Ramdin also returns to the squad after impressing for Trinbago Knight Riders.

All-rounder Romario Shepherd has been included in the ODI squad, with CPL performances again coming into consideration. Carlos Brathwaite, who was leading the T20I before Pollard’s appointment has been dropped from both the limited-overs squads. Big names like Chris Gayle, Sunil Narine and Andre Russell have also not been considered.

West Indies will play all the three formats against Afghanistan at Dehradun. The tour begins on November 5 and will conclude on December 1.

T20I squad: Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran, Evin Lewis, Brandon King, Shimron Hetmyer, Sherfane Rutherford, Jason Holder, Lendl Simmons, Fabian Allen, Hayden Walsh Jr., Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Denesh Ramdin, Kesrick Williams, Alzarri Joseph

ODI squad: Kieron Pollard (c), Shai Hope, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Sunil Ambris, Nicholas Pooran, Brandon King, Roston Chase, Jason Holder, Hayden Walsh Jr., Khary Pierre, Sheldon Cottrell, Keemo Paul, Romario Shepherd, Alzarri Joseph

Test squad: Jason Holder (c), Shai Hope, John Campbell, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shimron Hetmyer, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Sunil Ambris, Jomel Warrican, Rahkeem Cornwall, Kemar Roach, Keemo Paul, Alzarri Joseph

Leave a Response